Author Topic: Stoddart  (Read 4873 times)

Offline stod

• RootsChat Extra
  • I've not edited my PROFILE yet
    • View Profile
Stoddart
« on: Friday 14 May 04 12:40 BST (UK) »
G'day all,

I'm a beginner and new to the site and looking for assistance.

I do believe from my departed grandfather that our family of Stoddarts originated in Fowlis Wester in Perthshire. However my main problem is set out below. I can't go on unless I resolve this issue.

The LDS IGI shows that my g/g/g/grandparents marriage as a double up in dates. They have John Stoddart  m: Mary Brown in Dunblane as both 1811 and 1814.

Q: How would this come about and which one would be correct?
Q: Is there a chance that it is pure coincidence and that there were two couples with the same names ?? ( I doubt it ).

Over and above that I still cannot locate where John Stoddart was born or who his parents were.
Anybody assist with this ????

All the best

Warren Stoddart
NSW Aust.
Stoddart - Laird - Sharp - McAree - Brown -

Offline PaulineJ

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re:Stoddart
« Reply #1 on: Friday 14 May 04 13:59 BST (UK) »

A case in point about treating the IGI as a guide, not a definitive reference. Check the original record(s). These you should be able to order on film from your LDS centre.

Pauline
All census look up transcriptions are Crown Copyright http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
======================================
We are not a search engine. We are human beings.

Offline Searching4

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Stoddart
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 17 November 13 23:02 GMT (UK) »
With reference to your questions about two recorded dates for the marriage of your ancestor:  I encountered this as well, and discovered through later readings, that a couple sometimes married TWICE if they were from different parishes - once in the parish of each partner.